Australian Dreaming
Wednesday, January 12, 2005
Fallen Leaves

I was a little smug yesterday as the wind changed and blew in from the North. Thus the leaves blowing off the trees blew up the driveway and into gardens across the road from us. We had for the first time in months a perfectly leaf clean driveway.

Ha, I thought, no blowing the driveway tomorrow but on waking this morning I discovered the wind being contrary had changed direction and all those leaves that had blown across the road has blown back into our driveway. So there I was at 9.30 am this morning out with the blower when a car pulled up to view our 'For Sale' board.

I gaily ignored said car and continued on with the blowing. Knowing that it was possible I could get a call from the estate agent and knowing that the house was not in show condition I dashed inside to wash floors, clean no.2 son's bedroom and bathroom and hoover the black dog hairs off the white carpet.

I then dashed back outside to hoover up all those leaves that I had blown to the bottom of the driveway and then rake the grass of leaves and then clean the pool of leaves. By which time is was around noon. You could say I was totally leafed out but knowing I could have a call any moment I then tackled the rather large ironing basket. (Strange how few things are mine to iron and how many are no.2 son especially as he now has a new girlfriend) Still no call. Right I thought, I may have time to prepare dinner before said prospective buyers knocked on the door. Still no call. By 5.00 pm I was sitting with gin and tonic in hand finally relaxing. When husband appeared I tell him of prospective buyers car viewing our board. He laughs and says "they probably saw you blowing all those leaves and it put them off the house!" He's probaly right but boy what a day!

PS: the wind is still blowing in the wrong direction and the driveway is full of leaves again - I've given up trying to talk nicely to the gum trees - I just might stop hugging them and get out my axe instead!

Online for 7991 days
Last modified: 8/20/10, 9:57 AM
Status
You are not logged in
... Login
Main Menu

Search
Calendar
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
April
Comments
[Macro error in list: TypeError: null is not iterable (/home/helma/./apps/antville/code/Global/Global.js#771)]

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher